LA Alliance Events

Running Synchronous Online Learning Assistant-Supported Classes

Staff and faculty! Please join us for a virtual session!

Tuesday, April 21, 2020

9 AM HST / 12 PM PDT / 1 PM MDT / 2 PM CDT / 3 PM EDT

FULL DETAILS

Upcoming Events

We have decided to postpone the Summer 2020 Regional LA Workshops that were to be hosted by Montgomery College and Oregon State University until 2021. Meanwhile, we are planning to run some sessions focused on LAs in two-year college settings and ways for faculty to teach with LAs (remotely or otherwise) at the International LA Conference (November 13-16).

In lieu of in-person Regional LA Workshops this summer, we are considering options for virtual sessions and would like input from the community regarding topics and formats of interest. Please take 3 minutes to provide your input by submitting this survey. Please submit your responses by Tuesday, March 31 so we can proceed with planning. Thanks!

Meanwhile, save the date for the 2020 International LA Conference, planned for November 13-16, in Boulder, Colorado.

LA Research Symposium & International LA Conference
University of Colorado Boulder
November 13-16, 2020

International Conference

The Learning Assistant Alliance and the University of Colorado Boulder LA Program host an annual conference in Boulder, Colorado, in late October or early November. The conference brings together new and mature programs to share ideas and experiences. Beginner and advanced user sessions are available. Registration opens in June each year, with an email announcement to all Alliance members. Conference attendance is limited and fills up fast.

Representative sessions from recent conferences include:

Essential Elements Ways to Use LAs Supporting Faculty
Building, Scaling, and Sustaining LA Pedagogy Course Content Preparation Sessions
Evaluating Your Course Innovations and Program Learning About STEM Student Outcomes Assessment System LA Campus Program Management System

Regional Workshops

Regional workshops are typically offered in the spring and summer, at universities throughout the United States. Topics covered are similar to those at the International Conference, but local specializations are highlighted.

Site Visits

You can request a site visit by emailing the Leadership Council and describing your specific needs and contexts. Virtual and in-person site visits are available. LAgents close to you or familiar with your context and issues can help you address your needs.